Google Drive - Deduplication of files

This is HUGE for those of you that either weren't quite ready to move to Google Apps yet, or that needed to use programs outside the scope of what the Google Drive apps could provide.

Previously, if you uploaded a file from your computer, made a change to the original on your computer, and re-uploaded the updated file you ended up with two (or more) of the same file.  You probably needed to look at the dates associated with it to know which was the newest version - and if it got copied over as a Google document, you had the possibility of lost changes.

Now, from Google -
"Once launched, when users upload files that have the same filename as an existing file, they’ll be deduplicated, and the old file will be in revision history. This is so that if any mistakes are made, users can get back to the previous version. Similarly, uploaded folders will be merged with folders of the same name."

Here's the message that appears when you begin using this -
 
You do have a new option when uploading of "Keep as separate file" - it also tells you which version of the document this is -

And if you do convert a non-Google file to the Google format?  Google's got you covered - 
"So, when you open, convert and edit non-Google files in Docs, Sheets and Slides, we’ll now save a copy for you. Just view or download the non-Google source file in its original format directly from Revision History in Docs, Sheets and Slides on the web."

Popular posts from this blog

Google Script - Create a Drop-Down List from Spreadsheet Column

Google Sign-in - New & Updated

2017 MACUL Conference - Adding Pre-Conference Sessions to your Registration

Google Classroom - Add "Class Materials"