Posts

Showing posts with the label sites

Google Sites - New Button Option

Image
Another nice addition to the new version of Google Sites!  You can now easily add a simple button that is easy to edit and moveable on your page.  No more going to another site and creating a custom image of a button to upload! To add a button, look for it in the bottom section of items to insert - from this picture below you can see how it is a new option above the Divider: Put in the text you would like displayed in the button in "Name" then paste in the link (or select a page from your site) for the button to link to: It will add the button in a new section at the bottom of your page: You can move the button to a new location simply by dragging and dropping:

Google Sites - Converting a Classic Site to the Newer Version

Image
The conversion tool is now available to move any "classic" Google site to the newer version.  Overall this process will take a few minutes, and it is important to note that some features are still not available in the new Google Sites.  Luckily, there are warnings provided to let you know which features do not migrate over.  Here's how to convert it: 1. Open up your classic site - 2. Go to the gear menu and select Manage site -  and select Convert to the new Sites -   OR alternatively, click on the message that appears at the top of your site - 3. This is the conversion window that appears - If there are incompatible features, such as page types, a warning will appear and notify you - Likewise, if there are incompatible permissions, you will also get a warning - 4. Click on Start.  Then a bar will appear showing you the progress on the conversion -  5. Once it completes the draft creation, hit Continue You wil...

Google Sites - Deleting an Older Version Site

Image
With the newer version of Google Sites, there are some people that may prefer to delete an older version Google Site instead of converting it.  Deleting a site is pretty straightforward. Here are the directions: 1. Open up the site you wish to delete. 2. While on the site, go to the Manage site option in the menu - 3. Once the site management page is loaded, make sure that General is selected in the left-hand menu- 4. About half-way down the page are 3 buttons - the right most button says Delete this Site.  Click on that - 5. A confirmation page will appear to confirm you do indeed want to delete this site.  Click Delete on this pop-up - 6.  A message will appear at the top of the window telling you the site is being deleted - That's it! 

Google Sites - Duplicate a Site

Image
You now have the ability to duplicate a Google Site!  Most exciting part of this for schools, this means you can create building or district page templates which can then be duplicated by others (or duplicated by you and the copy shared with others) to keep a consistent theme over multiple sites in your domain.  The addition of Duplicate site is now available in the More menu - When you select to Duplicate a site, you will get a window that: lets you rename it,  save it in a different folder than the original site allows you to copy the share settings (or not)  After clicking OK - it will give a message of Copying... on the window.  Depending on the size of the site you are duplicating, this may be there several minutes - When the duplicate site is created, a message appears at the bottom of the current site  asking if you want to open the copy.  (I note this as you DO NOT want to make changes on the site that is visible as that...

Google Sites - Add a FavIcon

Image
With Google Sites, you can edit the FavIcon that appears in the tab of your website.  This is a pretty easy couple steps to help make your site more identifiable. 1. Go to the More Menu and select Edit favicon- 2. In the window that appears, either select to Upload (from your computer/device) or Select the icon (from your G Drive or a Search) - 3. Find the graphic you would like to use - 4. Select the graphic - 5. Preview it - you can trash it and start over if you don't like it - 6.  The next time you publish your site, the icon will change from the Google Sites icon to your selected icon -

Google Sites - Limit Who Sees Published Site

Image
The "new" Google Sites has another new setting.  When deciding who can view your site, you now have more options than just the standard "Anyone" and "Everyone in my organization" - a huge improvement if you are trying to find ways to share data to a limited number of people.  This feature has been available when you create a new site; as of today, I could also use this setting on an existing site (created with the "New" Google Sites of course). When you have existing site, you need to change this in the following way. 1. Click on the Share icon (silhouette with plus), like you would when adding an editor to your site - 2. Look for the new option of "Published" which will let you control who views your site.  Click on the Change... at the end of the line - 3.  Select "Specific people can view when published" - 4. Type in the name of the person or group you want to be able to view the site -  5.  Cha...