Posts

Showing posts with the label delete

Google Classroom - Reorganize Your Classwork

Image
Sometimes you want to move a topic to the top of the Classwork section to highlight it for students that need that focus.  Or maybe you accidentally assigned an item to the wrong topic, and need to re-assign it.  It is easy to reorganize items within your Classroom as long as they are within your Classwork section (this does not work for items in the stream). To organize your Classwork: When in the Classroom click on Classwork- To make modifications to a topic, you can click on the More menu (3 stacked dots)- You will get several options - 1 - Rename: will bring up the window below to change the name 2 - Delete: will delete the topic (but not the posts assigned to it) 3 - Copy link: will copy link you can use with students to direct them to the specific topic 4 - Move up/down: will let you reorder the topics You can also move topics by dragging & dropping - Additionally, you can reorder items OR add them to a topic by dragging and dropping -...

Google Classroom - Updating a Post in the Stream

Image
Today's tip is how to update a post that is already in your Google Classroom Stream.  Whether it is an assignment or an announcement, there are times you may need to update how a post is used - or even where the post is in prominence on your stream.  Your options will be to move to top, edit, delete or copy link; we'll give an explanation of each below. Here's how to start. Find the post in your stream you wish to update.  Click on the More menu (3 stacked dots)  -  You will see the following menu options - Here are what each option will do: Move to top - moves the post to the top of your stream  Edit - allows you to edit the post Delete - deletes the post Copy link - copies a direct link to the post, which you can use elsewhere (ie. email to student)

Google Calendar - How to Delete a Calendar

Image
Sometimes you just need to delete a calendar - you just don't need it anymore.  An example is the sample calendar I have been using for screenshots to create these posts when we wrap up with the tidbits on Calendar.  There is one important distinction to note - when you delete a calendar, you delete it for EVERYONE.  So make sure no one else is using that calendar before you delete it.  If they are, you should instead Unsubscribe from the calendar (which will be tomorrow's episode). (Here is a video on How to Delete a Calendar if you prefer.) Go to your calendar list, and hover over the calendar you want to delete to find the Options menu (or More Menu) - Choose Settings and sharing - Scroll all the way to the bottom of the settings the option to delete is there.  Again, note that this deletes the calendar for EVERYONE, so only Delete it if no one is using it - You will get a confirmation message verifying you wish to delete the calendar - ...

Google Sites - Deleting an Older Version Site

Image
With the newer version of Google Sites, there are some people that may prefer to delete an older version Google Site instead of converting it.  Deleting a site is pretty straightforward. Here are the directions: 1. Open up the site you wish to delete. 2. While on the site, go to the Manage site option in the menu - 3. Once the site management page is loaded, make sure that General is selected in the left-hand menu- 4. About half-way down the page are 3 buttons - the right most button says Delete this Site.  Click on that - 5. A confirmation page will appear to confirm you do indeed want to delete this site.  Click Delete on this pop-up - 6.  A message will appear at the top of the window telling you the site is being deleted - That's it! 

Google Calendar - Access to Deleted Events is Here!

Image
Today I deleted a duplicate event on my calendar (one of those events I created, and then received an invite from the organizer...).  A few minutes later, I received an email in my inbox: This is an awesome upgrade to making Calendars have similar features to other Google products! So notes from the email & what it means: 1. deleted events are stored in THAT calendar's trash.  Where is that?  It is a new option under the calendar settings: 2. deleted events will reside in the Trash for 30 days, same as your GMail, and Google Drive items. 3. deleted events can be restored by selecting it and then clicking the restore button 4. the trash can be emptied "manually" at any time Shared Calendars: Note that "user's with Make changes and manage sharing” or “Make changes to events” permission for a calendar can access Trash."  This is only talking about the Trash for that shared calendar as each calendar has it's own Trash.  While it doe...